Sometimes You Just Need to Bake

As I’ve mentioned before, I don’t eat a lot of “carbs”. Rather, I don’t eat a lot of grains or refined sugar. Though I love them, they don’t love me back.

However, I do love to bake. And sometimes, when life becomes joyful or, conversely, really confusing I just…my fingers twitch with the craving to preheat ovens (all ovens!) and line muffin tins. Usually, to avoid looking like an utter lunatic, I follow that desire to its conclusion and fill the tins with batter. And bake it. Yum.

Today is a joyful day–J and my third anniversary (!)–but we’re also in the midst of an uncertain, liminal time when our family (might, maybe, possibly) has some big changes coming up.

So, I baked. I couldn’t help it. I chalk it up to my specific biological imperatives.

Low (or No) Sugar Banana Chocolate-Chip Muffins

Adapted from Eat, Live, Run (a blog)

2 ripe bananas, mashed (the riper the better)

4 tbsp. butter, melted

1 egg

1 tsp. vanilla

up to 1/2 c. sugar, depending on personal preference

1 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1.5 c. whole wheat pastry flour (or AP white flour)

3/4 c. unsweetened or bittersweet morsels

Directions

Preheat oven to 350.

Mash bananas. Add melted butter, vanilla, egg, stirring after each addition. Add sugar, stir well. Mix in baking soda, salt, flour and morsels. Do not over mix. Stir until just combined.

Spoon into lined or greased muffin tins. Bake for 25-30 minutes.

Notes

I didn’t have morsels/chips on hand so I just chopped up a four ounce bittersweet chocolate baking bar.

Adjust the sugar proportional to the ripeness of the bananas. My bananas were on their way to overripe, so I added only 2 tbsps. of sugar. The muffins were just sweet enough to enhance the flavor of the chocolate and banana. The less ripe the bananas the more sugar you may want to add. Or not.

Enjoy!

Muffins with Anniversary Flowers...Awww.

One comment on “Sometimes You Just Need to Bake

  1. These sound yummy.

    I live in suburban NY and just got power back after 48 hrs without it. I was missing the chance to bake…

Leave a Reply

