Beltane Links

I am a solitary practitioner at the moment. Mostly it’s by life circumstance: I live pretty far away from where a lot of the rituals in my city are held, until recently there hasn’t been a Pagan gathering near me, etc. Also, I’m still in the closet, as it were, and until otherwise I feel the it best to eschew public gatherings. More thoughts on that at a later date, though.

However, I love to celebrate the Sabbats. Ever since I was little I took note of the changing of the seasons. I could ‘feel’ a thunderstorm coming; I  laid in the grass watching the endless parade of puffy summer clouds; I stood outside on rare cold evenings just so I wouldn’t miss our ephemeral winters. I love to celebrate the changing seasons, whether in community or by myself.

In that spirit, each time a Sabbat roles around I figured I’d gather links that include history, crafts, recipes, meditations, reflections, etc. If you have any pertinent resources, please comment!

Read:

Bealtainn (Part 1–General and Scottish Custom) and Bealtainne (Part 2–General and Irish Custom) by Tairis. Very thorough!!!

Celebration of May Day by Mike Nichols

Beltane: A Return to Feeling by Diotima Mantineia

Beltane: Holiday Details and History by Christina Aubin

Beltane Crafts

Watch:

CharmingPixieFlora’s Beltane Ideas (Wiccan/Goddess oriented–she has a ton of videos with Sabbat ideas, family celebration ideas, crafts, recipes, etc…)

Leave a Reply

