Maple Roasted Acorn Squash

[First, I have to say, my kitchen is a terrible place to take pictures. The people who redesigned it installed lighting that throws shadows everywhere. Obviously not food bloggers. 🙂 When I went to preview this post the pictures just looked terrible, so I decided to leave them out.]

Moving on!

Saturday morning we made our way to the mall for mine and J’s optometrist appointments. As we pulled into the parking lot we happened upon a happy surprise–a farmer’s market! I thought I knew about all of the markets in town, but apparently not. It was nice sized, not very large, but big enough to have some meat, crafts and a few veggie vendors. When we entered the market a lady shoved a $3 coupon in my hand. Sweet.

The market stalls were picked over by the time we got there, but my roving eye spotted a display of winter squash.

Winter squash = winter is coming…hahah. No. Sorry. I mean, yes, winter is coming, but we don’t live in Westeros…okay, forget it.

It does mean that autumn is on its way, and to celebrate these happy little finds I fixed up the squash in my favorite way.

Maple Roasted Acorn Squash

1 acorn squash, quartered and seeded

1 tbsp. olive oil

1-2 tbsp. butter (depending on the size of the squash)

2 tbsp. maple syrup (the real deal, please)

sea salt, to taste

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 400*

2. Rub/sprinkle/spray the acorn quarters with olive oil. Then, chunk up the butter and put it in the little cavities of the squash. Drizzle with maple syrup and sprinkle with salt.

3. Bake at 400*, from 25-35 minutes

4. Eat with gusto.

Notes

I prefer Grade B maple syrup for all syrupy applications. It has a much stronger flavor that really holds up to high heat cooking.

One comment on “Maple Roasted Acorn Squash

  1. GG says:

    This sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

