Samhain is Coming.

It’s two weeks, precisely, until Samhain.

I just got chills writing that.

I’m not sure what my plans are, yet. Part of me desires to have companionship this year, but, I’m about as solitary in practice as they come. The longing for companionship on this path has become more and more ardent in the past few months. I think that desire might start to shake some things up around here.

But anyway. This post is to scare up (hah. hah. hah.) some ideas about what to do and see what general direction I’m headed into this year.

Samhain. All Hallows’ Eve. All Souls’. Halloween. Summer’s end, summer’s sunset. End of harvest. End of the “lighter” half of the  year. Beginning of the dark half. The ‘veil’ is thin, as they say. Direct counter part to Beltane.

The ideas I had for this year, as follows:

-Colcannon. I make it every year at Samhain/Halloween.

-Setting a dumb supper/dumb plate. Setting the table with pictures of our beloved dead and telling stories about them.

-Making kornigou cakes

-Divination.

I’d like to do a proper ritual of some sort, but I’m not sure what. I have a few ideas of things that I want to “die” from this past year, so possibly something with that. Maybe a burning ritual, since fire is inherent in celebration of the cross-quarter holidays.

So, lovely readers–what do you do for Halloween/Samhain or the festival in which you celebrate your dead?

One comment on “Samhain is Coming.

  1. Wonderful Post thank you,
    I will be watching my machinima film of
    The Song Of Amergin, A Samhain Story,

    Blessed Samhain,
    Celestial Elf ~

Leave a Reply

