Halloween/Samhain 2011

Halloween and Samhain 2011:

-Baby C as a cow (running around mooing) and Mama M as a thrown together gypsy to great our…one group of trick or treaters. How does that happen? Last year there were 75. This year our whole street decked out for the occasion and we had one group! I blame the church ‘fall festivals’ and ‘trunk or treats’. Spoil sports.

-We had Colcannon, as always. Simple, adjustable recipe as follows: melt butter in a skillet. Add chopped ham. Let the fat render a bit. Add leeks, sauté till soft. Add cabbage. Turn off heat. Make mashed potatoes. Add cabbage/ham/leeks to your mashed potatoes and stir together. Top with cheese, if you wish, and bake until bubbly. Delicious.

-I set a dumb supper for the first time. Very calm and reflective.

-Divination with Tarot cards, the Wildwood Tarot Deck. I want to jive with that deck so badly, but I just…don’t. I can’t seem to get a clear reading, and I feel like the card meanings are too positive. Sometimes that can be encouraging, sometimes it just makes the message hard to decipher. It’s so silly though, because I feel like if I go back to reading with the Shadowscapes deck then I’ll be ‘abandoning’ the Wildwood. So silly.

-Performed some magic/ritual/whatever. It was a nice ceremony, a general banishing-bad-habits type of thing. I always seem to forget that when one does that, one should expect those bad habits to rear their ugly head in full force. And they definitely, definitely have. The past three days have been…kind of ugly…in many ways. Today I feel more grace though, and I thank the Great Whoever for it.

-I love the Samhain season. For the past few years I always hated waking up on November 1st. Kind of like the let down of December 26. But when I read the term “Samhain season” on an email I received this week I thought: “Yeah! A season of Samhain!” and…its true. It’s a season, a period of time, the process of drawing inward and dying. It takes time for the earth to do that just like it takes time to truly banish bad habits. To mark that continued remembrance I plan to get a professional Tarot reading done on Saturday. I’m excited. I haven’t had one since Imbolc 2010.

And that was our Samhain! Because our camera died there are sadly no pictures, but hopefully once it gets juiced up again I’ll be back with photos of our winter vegetable garden.

Leave a Reply

