Fall is Coming!

I just have to express the giddiness in my heart at the moment. Yes, it’s 101 degrees, muggy and stupid hot. Yes, my garden is withering and shriveling underneath the relentless beating sun.

But guess WHAT.

This weekend we’re getting a COLD front. It’s going to be 95 and it MIGHT RAIN.

I know, I know. I sound demented.

Even though it’s still crazy hot, and still will be, I can remember the first autumn seasonal shift for the last several years. In 2009, I was stepping out of my white Nissan Altima and going into my friend’s condo. Violet clouds bubbled over head, hot/cold raindrops spattered on my face and a cold wind–in August–blew away the heat waves emanating from the black asphalt. In 2010, a rain shower pounded our bedroom window as I nursed my new baby. In mid-September 2011–Christ, 2011–I was pulling up to the HEB parking lot and it just started to pour. Cold, hard, wet rain. Wind blew young trees parallel to the dusty ground. And because it was the first rain in almost four months, because of the Bastrop fires that had recently engulfed the region, people were downright giddy. I shit you not, adults were spontaneously laughing and dancing in the rain. It was beautiful.

So, when I saw that the weather forecast for this weekend was a cold front, rain and temps dropped into the mid-nineties, I couldn’t help but feel excited. Fall is coming!

5 comments on “Fall is Coming!

  1. rachaelwelsh says:

    Yay fall! Bring on the pumpkin pastries and apple butter!

  2. carly says:

    It definately rained here near fort worth … It has given me hope that the weather will break soon and we can start our fall crops! Hope you also saw a break in the weather!

Leave a Reply

