In Context.

For the past few days I’ve been searching the Internet and my library for socio-historical and mythological information about miscarriage and stillbirth. And…I’ve really come up short. I’ve found a lot about historical abortion, which, while fascinating, is not the nuance I’m looking for.

I’d like to do a post, or a series or posts, about the social, historical and mythological Pagan constructs of miscarriage and stillbirth. My assumptions are that it would be a taboo topic, since many of these societies were primarily concerned with fertility. Also, medical knowledge being variable, many women might not even know they’re pregnant. I will, however, give most women the benefit of knowing their bodies well enough to speculate.

So what are the stories around this? Who are the deities who preside over it?

And I just can’t find that information. I might be missing it completely. It might be hidden in books about broader topics that I haven’t found. Maybe I’m not keying in the right phrase. I’m hesitant to attribute the miscarriage label under Mother Goddesses, especially since I haven’t found references about them (Isis, Hera, Danu, Demeter, etc.) presiding over pregnancy loss.

On a personal spiritual level I’d like to incorporate this knowledge in my own practices. However, I think it would be a service to the community to have a resource pool for that information.

If you know anything, Pagan community, any tidbits at all, I’d love to hear them. Stories, songs, legends, rituals, deities, folk practices, herbs…whatever ya got.

Many blessings.

3 comments on “In Context.

  1. Thank you for this article it helps me lot!

  2. I’ve been attempting to research the same thing. I’ve had 4 losses in 16 months and I’ve been searching for some precedent in pagan mythology from which to draw strength.

    My heart goes out to you and I hope to find something that may be useful to us both.

    Blessings and light to you in dark times.

    • Please let me know if you do! It was such a hard time that I wish I would have found something. I’m so sorry for your pain and grief, but know that you are not alone. Sometimes the worst part of that whole process is the isolation. Blessings to you, as well, and may you find peace and rest.

Leave a Reply

