Pagan Kids: Book List #1

Ever since I could read I’ve devoured books. Some of my most poignant childhood memories are sitting in my room, lost to the world around me, absorbed in words and pictures.

We’ve read to our eldest daughter, C, ever since she was born. But now that she’s three board books are too simple, and much to my delight we’re moving on to more complicated stories. C is now way more involved in the process of reading. She is enthralled by innovative or beautiful artwork, likes to ‘read’ the stories with us, and asks questions about the subject matter.

So now I’m on the hunt for books. We have a large collection of board books, and some nice picture books (the current favorite is Dragons Love Tacos), but I’d like more that introduce…well, Pagan-y themes. I’ve cruised Amazon for a few hours and here are some I think fit the bill. If you have any recommendations, please add them to the comment section!

A picture book that explains what happens to the land and animals as they begin to prepare for winter.

A story of the same place during each full moon of the year. The artwork looks absolutely stunning.

A lyrical picture  book about a young girl anticipating a rain storm after a drought.

A classic. I read this book as a kid. A father and daughter go on a nighttime journey to find owls.

This is a fairly new book. A lonely girl discovers that her crayon can draw her imagination. She steps through the door she draws and into another land.

A young girl on vacation is encouraged by her parents to build fairy houses in the woods.

*Note: These aren’t sponsored links to Amazon. Just thought it’d make shopping easier 🙂

2 comments on “Pagan Kids: Book List #1

  1. Stacy says:

    I read my son The Tin Forest by Helen Ward – all the time. It is about an old man who makes his dreams of a lost beautiful land come true by sculpting things. Eventually the land responds and starts to grow plants and the animals return. Great message and gorgeous illustrations. Very magical.

  2. Thank you for these books! I found you for googling Pagan and Child Loss. I hope you haven’t stopped blogging and will return eventually.

Leave a Reply

